Every Friday leading up to the start of our inaugural season in the West Coast League we will be featuring one of our 15 league opponents in our Around the WCL series. The West Coast League was founded in 2005 and will grow to 16 teams in British Columbia, Alberta, Washington and Oregon for the 2022 season. This week: the Bellingham Bells. The Bells will visit Norbrock Stadium on June 10, 11 & 12.

Photo: Bellingham Bells


Founded: 1999

Home Stadium: Joe Martin Field | Bellingham, WA

Mascot: Dinger the Bellinghamster, joined 2011. Fun fact: Dinger wears number 04 because Bellingham was incorporated as a city in 1904.

2021 Season: 24-24 | 2nd North Division, lost to Yakima Valley (2-1) in North Divisional Series

Best Seasons:

  • West Coast League Champions: 2014
  • WCL North Division Champions: 2016 & 2018
  • WCL Runner Up: 2005
  • Pacific International League Champions: 1999

Notable Alumni:

  • MLB
    • Jeff Francis (2007 National League Champion)
    • Marc Rzepczynski (2011 World Series Champion)
    • Adrian Sampson
    • Spencer Howard
    • Ty Taubenheim
    • Kevin Richardson
    • Anthony Claggett
    • Eddie Kunz
    • Sean Halton
    • Stephen Fife
  • NFL
    • Jake Locker (Tennessee Titans)

Dinger the Bellinghamster (Photo: Bellingham Bells)


The Bells are one of the founding members of the West Coast League after playing six seasons in the Pacific International League. The Bells became the 4th franchise to win a WCL championship in 2014.

The team name predates the current team, dating back into the 1940s when two prior semi-pro teams were also named the Bells. Joe Martin – the namesake of their ballpark – was the manager and founder of the original Bells in 1941.

A star high school pitcher, semi-pro player, founder, manager, groundskeeper and chief booster, Martin was a jack of all trades in the Bellingham baseball community. He also ran a sporting goods store and briefly managed the Baby M’s.

Joe Martin Field served as a minor league ballpark in Class A-Short Season Northwest League from 1973-1996. The teams included the Bellingham Dodgers (1973-1976), the Bellingham Mariners (1977-1994) and the Bellingham Giants (1995-1996).

Hall of Fame players Ken Griffey Jr. and Edgar Martinez played at Joe Martin Field on their path to the Major Leagues.


Photo: Bellingham Bells