Every Friday leading up to the start of our inaugural season in the West Coast League we will be featuring one of our 15 league opponents in our Around the WCL series. The West Coast League was founded in 2005 and will grow to 16 teams in British Columbia, Alberta, Washington and Oregon for the 2022 season. This week: the Wenatchee AppleSox. Wenatchee will be in Kamloops July 29th, 30th & 31st

Photo: Wenatchee AppleSox

Founded: 2000

Home Stadium: Paul Thomas Sr. Stadium | Wenatchee, WA

Mascot: Coyote

Best Seasons:

  • 2003 Pacific International League Champions
  • 5x West Coast League Champions: 2005, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2012
  • 3x West Coast League MVP
    • 2016 Michael Toglia
    • 2012 Mitchell Gunsolus
    • 2006 Steve Marquardt

Notable Alumni:

  • MLB
    • Blaine Hardy
    • Brandon Bailey
    • Chad Smith
    • Clay Mortensen
    • Cole Gillespie
    • Drew Rasmussen
    • Griffin Canning
    • James Kaprielian
    • Jason Hammel
    • Keston Hiura
    • Marco Gonzales
    • Pat Valaika
    • Steve Ames
    • Taylor Jones
    • Tom Milone
    • Trevor Brown

Photo: Wenatchee AppleSox


The Wenatchee AppleSox began play in the Pacific International League for the 2000 season and played in that league through the 2004 season, winning the 2003 PIL title.

In 2005, the AppleSox were on of the founding members of the West Coast League. They won the first two league championships, won five of the first eight championships and played in seven of the first 10 championship series.

Wenatchee was home to professional baseball from the 1930s to the 1960s.

The Wenatchee Chiefs joined the Class B Western International League in 1937 and played in this league until the 1954 season, although they did not operate from 1941 to 1945 due to World War II. In 1955 the Chiefs were one of seven founding members of the Northwest League.

The Chiefs won four league titles, the WIL in ’39 and ’46, and the NWL in ’57 and ’62.

They had three Major League affiliates during the time in Wenatchee: New York Yankees (’38-’40), Cincinnati Redlegs (’57-’58) and the Chicago Cubs (’61-’65).

The Chiefs last season of play was in 1965.

Photo: Wenatchee AppleSox